Using Kleaner with Walkcycle

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available documentation for the tools.
    2. Some video tutorials and quicktips are available.
    3. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
  • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
  • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
  • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
  • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
deftonesjacket
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 6:47 am

Using Kleaner with Walkcycle

Post by deftonesjacket » Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:12 am

Hi,
I have a Full character rig that has a walkcycle automation and when the character is stationary i have applied Duik Kleaner to Upper, Lower, Goal of the FK to give it nicer movement.
Issue is :
1. applying Kleaner to these 3 FK controls gets rid of the Walkcycle code applied there. i need to copy and paste the Walkcycle back in.
Is there a way to apply the Kleaner and keep existing code in the property?

2. Pasting the walkcycle code back in under the Kleaner code, fixes the walkcycle code but negates the Kleaner code results.
{//Duik.kleaner
var fx = effect("Kleaner");
//parameters
var doAnticipation = fx(1).value;
----the code goes on for awhile but the standard Kleaner code that is applied
}
result;

}
---Kleaner code ends here and ive pasted the walkcycle effect below it

{//Duik.walkCycle
var sideFx = effect("Arm")(1).value;
var walkFx = thisComp.layer("C | Walk Cycle").effect("Walk Cycle")
sideFx == 1 ? walkFx(67).value + value : walkFx(73).value + value
}

Is there a way to bring the Kleaner code back to life while having the walkcycle code underneath?
Is this possible? any code i can add to have activate and the other deactivate maybe?

Cheers,

deftonesjacket

deftonesjacket
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 6:47 am

Re: Using Kleaner with Walkcycle

Post by deftonesjacket » Sun Feb 16, 2020 11:26 am

Ok found a a solution,

made a checkbox control called "Kleaner Code", when turned on: the Kleaner code activates , off: the walkcycle code kicks in

add this code in the property:

control = effect("Kleaner Code")("Checkbox") ;

if (control == 1){
//add Kleaner code here
}else{
//add walk cycle code here
}

hope this helps someone :)

that solves problem "2" but i was still wondering if there is a way Kleaner won't erase the existing code when applied to a property.

Cheers,

deftonesjacket

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 760
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Using Kleaner with Walkcycle

Post by Duduf » Sun Feb 16, 2020 4:26 pm

Hi,

There's an easier way to achieve this, you can use the "list"
https://duik-docs.rainboxlab.org/duik-list.html
which is an easy way to combine expressions/automations

deftonesjacket
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 6:47 am

Re: Using Kleaner with Walkcycle

Post by deftonesjacket » Mon Feb 24, 2020 6:16 am

LISTS! This is awesome, thanks so much. i need to research the tools more! this opens so many ideas. you're a champ!
Cheers,

deftonesjacket :)

Post Reply