Master setup property for connector is grayed out

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available documentation for the tools.
    2. Some video tutorials and quicktips are available.
    3. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
  • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
  • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
  • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
  • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
jlawheed
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:59 am

Master setup property for connector is grayed out

Post by jlawheed » Tue Nov 26, 2019 6:24 pm

Hello! I've got Duik 16.2.1 and am having trouble linking properties to an existing controller.

I've got a 2D slider set up and have keyframed my slave properties. I am trying to tie the slave properties to the existing slider control; I have selected the controller in the timeline and clicked the "select a master property" button but the option to select a property in "Master Setup" is grayed out. If I select the slave keyframes and click "connect to properties" it creates an entirely new connector. How can I connect to the properties of the existing controller?

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 833
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Master setup property for connector is grayed out

Post by Duduf » Thu Nov 28, 2019 8:26 am

I'm not sure I undestand what is greyed out, could you post a screenshot please?


For the connection, be aware that a new controller will be added to the comp which will contains some parameters for the connection. This is normal and it is not the actual controller used for animation, which is what you've picked or created first.

If you want to add other properties to an "existing" connector, connect properties to a controller which has already been connected to something else, you just have to copy the expression from the already connected properties

jlawheed
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:59 am

Re: Master setup property for connector is grayed out

Post by jlawheed » Mon Dec 02, 2019 7:05 pm

Hi and thank you for responding!
Screen Shot 2019-12-02 at 1.53.24 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-12-02 at 1.53.24 PM.png (658.94 KiB) Viewed 974 times
This is what I have in the comp ^

I've adjusted my left, right, up, and down looks. I'm trying to link these properties to the controller. When I click on the green "Head Control" layer and then click on "select a master property" in the script UI panel, it looks like this:
Screen Shot 2019-12-02 at 1.33.34 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-12-02 at 1.33.34 PM.png (43.95 KiB) Viewed 974 times
So when I highlight the properties for "nose" and "Facial Features" and click on "connect to properties", it instead creates a connector, and then my head rig only shows the diagonals:

Screen Shot 2019-12-02 at 1.53.07 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-12-02 at 1.53.07 PM.png (668.63 KiB) Viewed 974 times
I've been following a tutorial here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbd5T6xbRVs and am at about 27:40, unable to do the thing he is doing.

Post Reply