This forum has been permanently closed and archived; you can still access all content but can't post anymore.

Of course, you can still join us in other places!
To get support and talk about RxLaboratory and with the team, come here: https://rainboxlab.org/support/

Continuously Rasterize Issues

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Drake

Continuously Rasterize Issues

Post by Drake » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:15 pm

So, I'm fairly new to animating with After Effect, but I've completed a few short animated videos in it (about 30 "finished" minutes of total After Effect experience). Up to this point I've drawn everything in Photoshop (which I have a good level of experience with). The issue is in zooming in and zooming out. Since it is pixel based, it is pixelated if I zoom in or out. My work around has been to basically draw completely different versions of each of the puppets for each zoom level I need for any given scene. I feel this is a complete waste of time, and I feel like I should be able to simply have ONE version of each puppet, and then zoom in and out as needed without it being pixelated.

I "thought" that moving to Illustrator and doing everything as vector art would solve my issues.

It did when it comes to pixelization. I can zoom in and out to my heart's content and everything looks great (provided I use the “Continuously Rasterize” option, which you will see in a moment is the bane of my life).

Unfortunately, it seems like EVERYTHING ELSE is broken when I use the “Continuously Rasterize” option. I have searched and searched for anyone discussing my issues, but I have up to this point found nothing.