Auto-renaming bug

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available documentation for the tools.
    2. Some video tutorials and quicktips are available.
    3. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
  • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
  • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
  • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
  • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
rosatron
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 12:48 am

Auto-renaming bug

Post by rosatron » Mon Dec 21, 2020 5:21 am

Recently I have noticed that Duik is automatically renaming any project items or layers that share the same name. It does this with no prompting on my behalf - it is a process that just happens in the background, as soon as I open the after effects file.
I understand why it would want to rename layers in a comp where it needs to reference unique names for expressions - but this is definitely not the case!
To make matters worse, each project item it renames counts as a history state, so if it decides to rename 90 of my comps, it takes up 90 of my history states to do it (and it insists on doing it every 2 minutes, even when I revert it back) which makes the file basically unusable.
For my work, it is necessary to have project items with duplicate names. I separate the duplicate comp names via folder. Is there any way I can stop duik from automatically changing all my names?

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 890
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Auto-renaming bug

Post by Duduf » Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:35 am

Hi,
Just click on the brain icon at the bottom right of the panel, and you can disable name checks for the current project or globally

rosatron
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 12:48 am

Re: Auto-renaming bug

Post by rosatron » Mon Dec 21, 2020 8:31 am

Wonderful - thank you so much!

Post Reply