Mocap->Duik?

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available documentation for the tools.
    2. Some video tutorials and quicktips are available.
    3. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
  • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
  • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
  • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
  • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
hrundi
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 11:31 pm

Mocap->Duik?

Post by hrundi » Sun Feb 07, 2021 8:28 pm

Hi. 🙂 Is it possible to drive a DUIK-puppet using a bvh motion capture file? Iam experimenting with a kinect here, which delivers bvh-data (via an application called fastmocap on mac). I could then import this into AE via the import Bvh plugin. Or, from an older application called KinectToPin, I could use captured xml-Data and get it to AE via an assoziated plugin as well.
But I read about difficulties to get this working on a DUIK-Character, so...
...is it worth it?
Thx in advance 🙂
Hrundi

hrundi
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 11:31 pm

Re: Mocap->Duik?

Post by hrundi » Wed Feb 24, 2021 5:12 pm

:-)
Ok, different approach:

This picture shows my Mocap-Skeleton after importing to After Effects.

Image

The red rectangles are Control-Nulls, driven by the mocap-Data.
Question now: Is it possible to connect these Null-Objects (similar to Duik-Bones generated from puppet pins) to a DUIK-character?
If so: How? In which state of the rigging process? What to what?
In final, my goal is to have a puppet both driven by captured data (like those in this scene) and via DUIK-Controls as well (or switchable) in order to do some stuff still manually in a known way.

Anybody? :-)
thx in advance
hrundi

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 909
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Mocap->Duik?

Post by Duduf » Sat Feb 27, 2021 9:41 am

You can use expressions to connect the properties from a Duik rig to the layers with the mocap data.
But if the character moves in perspective, you'll probably have some maths/conversions/adjustments to do to adjust the motion to a 2D space like Duik rigs

hrundi
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 11:31 pm

Re: Mocap->Duik?

Post by hrundi » Sat Feb 27, 2021 7:04 pm

Hi and thx for reply, :-)
You can use expressions to connect the properties from a Duik rig to the layers with the mocap data.«
:-) Iam glad to hear that. :-) But which properties from which parts of the rig (structures? Controllernulls?) do I have to connect via which expressions? Simple pickwhipping?
But if the character moves in perspective, you'll probably have some maths/conversions/adjustments to do to adjust the motion to a 2D space like Duik rigs
Yeah, Ive got a solution for this. Only thing I don't know is how to connect what to what in which state of the process.

Love to hear from you with further details to this, thx in advance! :-)

hrundi

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 909
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Mocap->Duik?

Post by Duduf » Sun Feb 28, 2021 9:32 pm

I don't know, it depends on your rig, the motion data, etc. There are a lot of possibilities, connecting structures, or the controllers, etc... with either simple expression links or more complex ones involving conditipns, math, ... you have to try and see.

Post Reply