Resize comp?

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available documentation for the tools.
    2. Some video tutorials and quicktips are available.
    3. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
  • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
  • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
  • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
  • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
badmaryband
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:53 pm

Resize comp?

Post by badmaryband » Thu May 16, 2019 8:19 pm

I have started a comp of a character walking up stairs using a rig. Made the original comp size too small, so his head is now getting cut off at the top. I tried resizing, but everything got totally bent out of shape. So I resized with the center being the top left corner... now the character stays in the right shape, but as I resized in the top right corner, I still don't have the headroom.

Is there another way of doing this?

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Resize comp?

Post by Duduf » Fri May 17, 2019 9:52 am

Can't you just move the character back to the center of the comp after having resized using the top left corner?

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Resize comp?

Post by Duduf » Fri May 17, 2019 9:54 am

You can also animate outside of the comp using the "extract controllers" tool, and checking the Continuously rasterize/collapse transformations option on the precomp, so you'll get what's outside of the precomp and you won't have to resize it

badmaryband
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:53 pm

Re: Resize comp?

Post by badmaryband » Sat May 18, 2019 12:34 pm

When I move the character after resizing, the character gets really warped because I've already set keyframes for the walk already... make sense?

Thanks for the continuously rasterize option!! I didn't know this.

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 737
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Resize comp?

Post by Duduf » Sat May 18, 2019 1:46 pm

A way to move already animated characters is to parent all unparented controllers to a null object then move the null... usually it works ;)

Gabo
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:04 pm

Re: Resize comp?

Post by Gabo » Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:07 pm

Hi! I found a really easy fix for this problem.

step 1: open composition settings (ctrl+k), select the top left corner as anchor in the advanced tab and resize the comp to your needs

step 2: create a new adjustment layer and place on top of everything

step 3: add the "transform" effect to the adjustment layer. There you can change position, scale, etc and your rig stays intact.



Hope this helps someone. Cheers!!

Post Reply